5 Decades of Great Music - Matt Lucas

Matt Lucas began his career as a drummer. He had his first hit in 62 with "I'm Movin On".

Matt Lucas was born in Memphis Tennessee and raised in Poplar Bluff, Missouri. He returned to Memphis in the late 50s to work as a studio musician and began gigging with Narvel Felts. In 1962 he released "I'm Movin On" which made him a star. He was picked up by Smash Records and the record went to number 1. This was his first big hit but many others followed including "Motor City Twine", "Ooby Dooby", and "Maybellene".

The Flying Hungarians were honored to back Matt Lucas for the show

Flying Hungarian bassist Carl Heyl

Kier Heyl on drums. Kier plays drums and keyboards with Hairy Larry and The Flying Hungarians.

Back To The Main Page
Joe Lee
Billy Lee Riley

More Information on Matt Lucas
Matt Lucas on Delta Musicians
Matt's Notes
Matt Lucas Band Page