Delta Boogie Press Releases
Delta Boogie Hairy Larry
invites you to
join the
Delta Boogie
email list
Home Network Now! Search Table of Contents Links Music Video Radio Bands

Premier Player Awards

13th Annual Premier Player Awards

The Memphis chapter of NARAS, The National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences, Inc. also known as The Recording Academy, will hold it's annual Premier Player Awards Thursday, April 9th at The Peabody Ballroom, 149 Union.

The Nominees Reception begins at 6 pm at Automatic Slim's and Huey's Downtown. The awards show begins at 7:30 pm. This year there will be a post awards party at the new Hard Rock Cafe on Beale Street.

In addition to honoring the premier performers, songwriters, engineers, producers and bands, there will also be lifetime achievements for the Staple Singers with a Governors Award, the highest award that can be presented by a chapter of the Recording Academy. Starting with "Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom Boom)" and "I"ll Take You There," the Staples counted a dozen chart hits at Stax Records.

Performers for the 13th Annual Premier Players Awards include Ann Peebles, Big Ass Truck, Garrison Starr, Kelley Hurt and Gary Johns, North Mississippi All-Stars, Preston Shannon Band, Riverbluff Clan, The Associates Choir directed by O’Landa Draper and The Staple Singers with the Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section and the Memphis Horns. Call the chapter office for more information at (901)525-1340.

Delta Boogie Press Archive

Email Delta Boogie
Copyright by Larry Heyl and Vivian Heyl, 1997